Northwest Mississippi Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award the Associate of Arts degree, the Associate of Applied Science degree, and certificates in career education. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA, 30033-4097, or call (404) 679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Northwest Mississippi Community College.

The College was initially accredited by the Mississippi Junior College Accrediting Association in 1928 and by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools in December 1953. The latest reaffirmation of the SACSCOC accreditation was in 2017. The college is also a member of the American Association of Community Colleges.

The Associate Degree Nursing program was initially accredited by the National League for Nursing in 1978 and has maintained that accreditation. The program is currently accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) located at 3343 Peachtree Road NE Suite 850, Atlanta, Georgia 30326, and the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning located at 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, MS, 39211.

The Associate of Applied Science degree in Funeral Service Technology at Northwest Mississippi Community College is accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education (ABFSE), 992 Mantua Pike, Suite 108, Woodbury Heights, NJ 08097. Telephone number (816) 233-3747: website

The Automotive Technology program and the Chrysler Mopar CAP program are each MASTER accredited by NATEF, the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation.

The Aviation Maintenance Technology program is accredited by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

The Cosmetology program is accredited by the Cosmetology Board of the State of Mississippi.

The Practical Nursing program is accredited through the State Department of Education, Career-Technical Division, The National Association for Practical Nurse Education and Services, Inc. (NAPNES), National Federation for Licensing Practical Nursing Corp. (NFPNA), and the Mississippi Licensing for Practical Nursing Association (MLPNA).

The Respiratory Therapy program on the DeSoto Center campus in Southaven is accredited through the State Department of Education and holds national accreditation by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (, 1248 Harwood Road, Bedford, Texas, 76021-4244: Telephone number 817-283-2835.

The Emergency Medical Technology-Paramedic program is sanctioned by the Mississippi State Board of Health, Division of EMS, the State Department of Education, and the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the EMS Professions. The program meets or exceeds those standards established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration/U.S. Department of Transportation.

The Heating, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Technology program has met the instruction, curriculum, student, faculty and facility standards set forth by the Partnership for Air-Conditioning, Heating, Refrigeration Accreditation (PAHRA). PAHRA’s programmatic accreditation certifies that the following training areas have been evaluated: Residential Air Conditioning and Heating.

Except for the credits in some technical, career, and foundation courses, freshman and sophomore credits earned at Northwest Mississippi Community College may be transferred to any other college or university and applied toward an academic degree.


Scroll Up
Main Menu
User Menu
Skip to content