Northwest nursing students shine at state convention

NWNursesMOSAThirty-one nursing students from Northwest Mississippi Community College’s Student Nurses Association (SNA) brought home several awards and recognitions from the annual Mississippi Organization for Associate Degree Nursing Student Association (MOSA) conference held at the Vicksburg Convention Center in Vicksburg on March 27.

Sophomore Jasmine Murphy of Walls was elected as state secretary of the MOSA board. Tekisa Hill, a sophomore from Walls was elected state treasurer of the MOSA board. Hill was also the winner of the $1,000 Bobbie Anderson Scholarship.

Kelly Grace, a graduating sophomore from Crenshaw, was nominated for MOSA Outstanding Associate Degree of Nursing Student and received a free first year membership to the Mississippi Organization for Associate Degree Nursing (MO-ADN) upon licensing.

Sophomore students Sara Wood of Senatobia and Jeff Ma of Hernando represented Northwest in the MOSA Scholar’s Bowl. Northwest received first place award for “Most Creative Scrapbook,” and first runner up for “Spirit of the Community.”

“I am so proud of all of our students who attended the conference. I am especially proud of those who ran for office, those who supported them and those who spent their own time compiling our award-winning scrapbook. Our commitment to this organization is long-standing, and we look forward to future participation in this professional group of nursing students, nurses, nurse administrators and nurse educators who promote the interests of our graduates as they pursue their nursing careers,” said Dr. Ellen Williams, dean of Northwest’s Nursing Division.

For more information on the nursing program, contact Williams at 662-562-3283 or email

Pictured: These Northwest Mississippi Community College students attended the annual Mississippi Organization for Associate Degree Nursing Students Association conference in Vicksburg on March 27. Northwest received first place for Most Creative Scrapbook and was first runner up for “Spirit of the Community.” Pictured left to right, first row are Kayla Moore of Calhoun City, Tekisha Hill of Walls (elected state treasurer and received the Bobbie Anderson scholarship), Corrie McCree-Weekly of Hattiesburg, Abby Clark of Hernando and Ashley Coey of Southaven. Second row, left to right, Melissa Tennison of Hernando, Kelly Grace of Crensha (nominated for Oustanding Nursing Student), Jasmine Murphy of Walls (elected state secretary), Jeff Ma of Hernando (Scholar’s Bowl competitor), John Lewis of Oxford and Sara Wood of Senatobia (Scholar’s Bowl competitor). (Photo by LaJuan Tallo)

Posted in Communications, Nursing, Students, Top News Stories Tagged with: , ,