HEADWAE student and teacher honored at March Board of Trustees meeting

HEADWAEBOTNorthwest President, Dr. Gary Lee Spears, center, congratulated Northwest’s HEADWAE recipients, l-r, sophomore general college major Nathan Jones of Coldwater and Hotel and Restaurant Management Technology instructor Katherine Murphy Mistilis of Memphis. Both recipients are from the DeSoto Center.  HEADWAE stands for “Higher Education Appreciation Day-Working for Academic Excellence.” The award was established by the Mississippi Legislative Resolution #88 in 1987 to annually honor academically talented students and faculty members of Mississippi’s higher education institutions who have made outstanding contributions in promoting academic excellence. Jones and Mistilis were honored at the 27th annual HEADWAE program in Jackson on Feb. 18. (Photo by Sarah Sapp)

Posted in Communications, Faculty/Staff, Fine Arts, Students, Top News Stories Tagged with: , ,