Northwest 2014 All-Mississippi Academic Team Honorees recognized by State Legislature

PTK All-Mississippi Northwest 2014Northwest Mississippi Community College students Hannah Simpson of Coldwater, Jeromy Payne of Senatobia and Rebekah Bosley of Nesbit were honored on March 5 by the Mississippi Legislature for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Team.

After being honored on the floor of the Senate with the passing of a House Concurrent Resolution commending the members of Phi Theta Kappa’s All-Mississippi Academic Team, the nominees adjourned to the All-Mississippi Academic Team Recognition Luncheon held at the Jackson Convention Center where they were individually recognized for their academic accomplishments. Bosley, a general college major from the DeSoto Center, was recognized as an All-Mississippi first team honoree, while Simpson, a music major from the Senatobia campus and Payne, an social work major from the Senatobia campus, were recognized as All-Mississippi second team honorees.

State Sen. Terry Burton; Speaker of the House, Phillip Gunn; Executive Director of the Community College Board, Dr. Eric Clark; and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Executive Director, Dr. Rod Risley served as distinguished speakers at the recognition luncheon.

Northwest President, Dr. Gary Lee Spears, played a special role in this year’s ceremony by serving as chairman of the event’s steering committee for the fourth year in a row.

Each two-year college in Mississippi may nominate two students per campus to the All-Mississippi Academic Team. Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community.

Posted in Communications, Top News Stories