Northwest All-Mississippi Academic Team Honorees recognized by State Legislature

    Northwest Mississippi Community College students Joyce Jeltz of Horn Lake, Megan Jones of Oxford, Giovanni Biffle of Marks and Rachel Voss of Olive Branch were honored on March 7 by the Mississippi Legislature for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Mississippi Academic Team.

    After being honored by the Senate, the nominees adjourned to the All-Mississippi Academic Team Recognition Luncheon held at the Jackson Convention Center where they were individually recognized for their academic accomplishments. Jeltz, a business and marketing technology student from the DeSoto Center was recognized as an All-Mississippi first team honoree, while Jones, a biology and pre-medicine major from the Lafayette-Yalobusha Technical Center, Biffle, a criminal justice major from the Senatobia campus and Rachel Voss, a general college major from the Senatobia campus, were recognized as All-Mississippi second team honorees.

    Miss. Senator Terry Burton; Executive Director of the State Board for Community and Junior Colleges, Dr. Eric Clark; and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Executive Director, Dr. Rod Risley served as distinguished speakers and guests in attendance at the recognition luncheon.

    Northwest President, Dr. Gary Lee Spears, played a special role in this year’s ceremony by serving as chairman of the event’s steering committee.

    Each two-year college in Mississippi may nominate two students per campus to the All-Mississippi Academic Team. Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community.

    Pictured:  Northwest Mississippi Community College President, Dr. Gary Lee Spears (third from right), joins (l-r) Northwest instructors and Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) advisers Judy Barham and Dawn Stevens, DeSoto Center Dean, Richie Lawson, Northwest instructors and PTK advisers Kim Hamilton-Wims (second from right) and James Baker (right) in congratulating Northwest students (fourth from left-r) Megan Jones of Oxford, Giovanni Biffle of Marks, Rachel Voss of Olive Branch and Joyce Jeltz of Horn Lake for being named to the PTK All-Mississippi Academic Team. (Photo by Justin Ford)